Happy Distractions

Well, April and May have come and gone, and along with it, the chance to document the firsts of the spring season.  But I’m OK with that. Much has happened, both in the great wide world and in my own little world to distract me, though little, if any of it has been going on in my kitchen. It’s easy to get mesmerized—consumed even—with the news headlines, to dwell on the catastrophes and the threats, to get so caught up in the ways of the world that we miss out on what is going on in our own.  So for the moment, I want to focus on the beautiful things that have been happening in mine.

My unfortunate blog famine can be attributed mostly to the fact that I started a new gig at the end of March. While I attempt to figure out a better schedule that allows me to take food photos in the daylight (seriously this is a problem), and allows me to write when I still have coherent thoughts for the day, I will relish in my days at the new job.  A quick walk through my neighborhood park filled with flowers and trees, a bubbling fountain, and for the moment, this peaceful sculpture, takes me to a cozy loft-y office, sunlit and full of art and books and hardwood floors. It’s really quite a lovely place to spend 8 hours of my day.
Though it seems like ages ago now, two amazing people that I know tied the knot in a personal, heartfelt ceremony that left most of the guests in tears.  Or at least it seemed that way to me behind my own bleary eyes.  Best friends falling in love makes for one sweet love story and one beautiful wedding.  In adherence to their personalities, the reception was full of laughter and fun, some yummy food, and countless first-rate dance moves (really, I was so entertained by the mother/son dance, I almost fell off my chair!).  I feel lucky to have been a part of their day and luckier still to call them my friends. Cheers to Liz and Colin!
Strangely enough, on that very same day, my sister and brother-in-law made me an auntie and godmother by way of the sweetest baby boy, an 8lb–now 12 lb!–bundle of unruly golden hair and silky skin, a tangle of scrawny limbs, tiny footies, and comical faces. Even in the first few days and weeks when he slept through most of the day, I couldn’t get enough of him.  I would watch his heavy eyelids as he struggled and failed to stay awake and I’d wonder what that precious little one was dreaming of.  These days he is much more alert, full of heart-melting drooly smiles, and although it seems impossible, he is even cuter than he was before.  He is healthy and strong and beautiful.  And for that I am so grateful.
*Photo by bellababyphotography.com
Between everything that has been going on, I feel like I’ve spent more of my weekends en route to somewhere that I have in my own home.  But since last week, it’s been rather quiet here, and my little greenmarket has been ever so patient with me.  I suppose it’s about time I got back in the kitchen.  Until next week, then:  Happy Weekend.  Happy Summer.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

